Press Release

Dr. Tapan Kumar Chand elected Chairman of CII


Bhubaneswar, 25/02/2017 : Dr Tapan Kumar Chand Chairman-cum-Managing Director, NALCO has been elected as Chairman of Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), Odisha State Council at its Annual Meeting  held on 25th February 2017 at Bhubaneswar. Dr Chand is currently holding the post of Chairman Aluminium Association of India & the Chairman of National Mines & Minerals Council of Associated Chambers of Commerce & Industry of India (ASSOCHAM). In his maiden address as Chairman of CII, Odisha State Council, Dr Chand mentioned that CII will be the platform for all industries in the state, “big or small, CII will work for all.” He thanked the State Govt for designating CII as its partner, in the progress of the State and highlighted the need for further enhancing ease of doing business and reduction in the cost of doing business. He underscored the need for growth with employment to speed up development in the State. He informed that the rate of employment of MSMEs in Odisha is 5.2 and far higher than the national average of 2.3 and that this sector needs handholding by the Government & Large industries for its growth. Dr. Chand mentioned that, as a way forward, CII will work for enhancing Odisha as a choice destination for investment by industries, advocate rationalisation of existing & formulation of new industry savvy policies and disseminate benefits under the industrial policy to user industries.

Speaking on the occasion, Shri Debi Prasad Mishra, Hon’ble Minister of Industries & School & Mass Education, Govt of Odisha complimented CII for its proactive role and informed that the Govt has been able to reduce approval time for industries significantly, making it as low as 20. He urged industry captains under the able leadership of CII and its incoming Chairman Dr. Chand to work for making Odisha the hub of manufacturing. Among others, Shri P.K. Jena, IAS, Principal Secretary, Department of Electronics & Information Technology, Govt of Odisha, Shri Sanjeev Chopra, IAS, Principal Secretary, Department of Industries, Govt of Odisha, Shri T.V. Narendran, Chairman, CII, Eastern Region and Managing Director, Tata Steel Ltd., Ms. Nita Karmakar, Regional Director, Eastern and North-Eastern Region, CII and Shri Sanjay Pattnaik, outgoing Chairman, CII, Odisha State Council were present on the occasion.