press clipping banner

NALCO East Zone Golf tournament concludes Satyajyoti Mohanty emerges champion


Bhubaneswar, 25/01/2015:  12th NALCO East Zone Golf tournament concluded here at the Bhubaneswar Golf Club(BGC). Local golfer Shri Satyajyoti Mohanty emerged as the champion and received the NALCO trophy from Shri Ansuman Das, CMD, NALCO.

Besides, Ms Lakhi Swain was awarded as the Best Lady Golfer while Shri Prabhuda Ray and Shri Ramit Kapoor were awarded in Senior category and Best Gross category respectively. Shri Trilochan Singh of Mowbhandar Railway Club (West Bengal), was awarded as the Best Outstation Golfer. Among the youngsters, Shri Dharmendra Mishra also received trophy in 19-24 handicap category. Shri S.C. Padhy, Director (HR), NALCO, Ms. Soma Mondal, Director (Commercial), NALCO, Shri V. Balasubramanyam, Director (Production), NALCO, and Shri Dulal Pani, Secretary of Bhubaneswar Golf Club handed over the awards to the winners in various categories at the award ceremony held yesterday.

In the team event held today, Shri Ajay Negi, Shri J.N. Rath, Shri Jayant Biswas & Shri Ranjit Singh has emerged as the winners. Over 80 golfers from 15 clubs of eastern India including teams from West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha etc participated in the tourney. The three-day 18-hole stroke-play inter-club tournament, the biggest in Odisha, under the aegis of Bhubaneswar Golf Club (BGC), featured competition in men, women and veterans categories and was organized for the twelfth time in series at the Golf course at Infocity, Bhubaneswar.